Contra Costa LAFCo Commissioners Receive State Award

Commissioners CALAFCO Award
On October 30th, Contra Costa LAFCo Commissioners were named “Most Effective Commission” in California at the annual California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions (CALAFCO) Conference.

Contra Costa LAFCo Commissioners were recognized for their diligence and leadership. Their endeavors to promote healthy and sustainable local agencies through analysis and assistance and intervene when needed to restructure or dissolve struggling agencies supports the goal of LAFCos to promote efficient service delivery which is essential to the fiscal, economic and social wellbeing of Contra Costa County and California. Since 2010, Contra Costa LAFCo Commissioners have assisted three special districts to improve their operations and transparency, encouraged one district to revise its governance structure, reorganized one special district, and dissolved four special districts due to lack of or poor performance.

This is the latest of many State awards received by Contra Costa LAFCo. Other Contra Costa awards include 2016 Outstanding Commissioner – Don Tatzin, 2013 Outstanding LAFCo Professional – Lou Ann Texeira, 2013 Outstanding LAFCo Clerk – Kate Sibley, 2011 – Government Leadership Award – Central Contra Costa Sanitary District, 2007 – Lifetime Achievement Award – John T. Knox, 2007 and several others from earlier years. Contra Costa LAFCo is a State regulatory commission responsible for encouraging the orderly formation of local government agencies, preserving agricultural and open space lands, and discouraging urban sprawl. LAFCO is governed by a seven-member commission comprised of two County Supervisors, two City Council Members, two Special District Board Members, and one Public Member, plus one alternate member in each category. CALAFCO is a statewide organization dedicated to assisting member LAFCOs and serves as a resource to the California Legislature and other government agencies and organizations.

For more information please contact:
Lou Ann Texeira, Executive Officer
Contra Costa LAFCO