

CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION 40 Muir Road, 1st Floor • Martinez, CA 94553 e-mail: LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us (925) 313-7133

MEMBERS

Candace Andersen *County Member*

Federal Glover

County Member

Michael R. McGill

Special District Member

ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Diane Burgis County Member Scott Pastor Special District Member

Charles R. Lewis, IV

Public Member

Edi Birsan

City Member

Public Member **Gabriel Quinto** City Member

Donald A. Blubaugh

Scott Perkins City Member

Patricia Bristow Special District Member

January 10, 2024 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 40 Muir Road, First Floor Martinez, CA 94553

LAFCO Commissioner Terms

Dear Commissioners:

BACKGROUND: The authority and procedures for appointing members of the Commission are set forth in the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Act (CKH). All terms of office on LAFCO are for four years, expiring on the first Monday in May, unless procedures adopted by the Commission specify an alternative date to apply uniformly to all members. Appointments are as follows:

- 1) **City Members -** The two regular City members and one alternate member must be members of a city council during the time they serve. They are chosen by, and serve at the pleasure of, the *City Selection Committee* (i.e., Contra Costa County Mayors Conference). (Gov. Code §§56325, 56335) The Committee consists of the mayor of each city. In the absence of the mayor, another member of that city council may be appointed to attend and vote in place of the mayor. City Selection Committee meetings are open to the public.
- 2) **County Members -** The two regular County members and one alternate member must be county supervisors when they serve. They are appointed by, and serve at the pleasure of, the Board of Supervisors.
- 3) **Special District Members -** The two regular special district members and one alternate member must be members of the governing board of an independent special district while they serve. They are chosen by, and serve at the pleasure of, the Special District Selection Committee. The Committee consists of the presiding officer of each independent special district in the county, and its meetings are open to the public. The LAFCO Executive Officer calls and gives notice of these Committee meetings, per statute.
- 4) **Public Members -** The one regular public member and one alternate member are appointed by, and serve at the pleasure of, the regular city, county and special district Commissioners. The method for selecting public members is determined by the City, County and Special District members. At least four affirmative votes are required to appoint the public members, and there must be at least one vote from each of the other member categories: City, County and Special District. The Commission has the

Lou Ann Texeira Executive Officer

> January 10, 2024 Agenda Item 7

option of appointing the Public Members with or without a formal recruitment process. The use of any alternative selection process requires at least four affirmative votes, and there must be at least one vote from each of the other member categories: City, County and Special District.

DISCUSSION: The terms of the following Commissioners will expire on May 6, 2024:

- ↓ City Member Gabriel Quinto
- **4** County Member Diane Burgis
- Special District Member Michael McGill
- ↓ Public Members Charles Lewis and Donald Blubaugh

As previously noted, the Commission appoints the Public Members. The terms of Public Member Blubaugh and Alternate Public Member Lewis expire on May 6, 2024. Commissioner Blubaugh advised LAFCO that he will not seek re-appointment. The Commission has the option of either appointing Alternate Public Member Lewis to the Public Member seat or directing LAFCO staff to initiate a recruitment for the Public Member seat, then the Commission should direct LAFCO staff to initiate a recruitment for the Alternate Public Member seat.

Previously, the Commission formed a committee to assist with screening and interviewing Public Member and Alternate Public member applicants. The Committee is typically comprised of one City, one County, and one Special District Commissioner.

RECOMMENDATION: Provide direction to staff regarding the Public Member and Alternate Public Member seats.