RESOLUTION OF THE CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION COMMENDING

Federal Glover

January 10, 2024 Agenda Item 4

For Dedicated and Outstanding Service as Contra Costa LAFCO Chair - January - December 2023

WHEREAS, Local Agency Formation Commissions (LAFCOs) were created by the Legislature in 1963 to encourage the orderly formation of local governmental agencies, preserve agricultural and open space lands, and discourage urban sprawl; and

WHEREAS, Commissioners rely on their expertise and experience while serving on LAFCO, and exercise responsibility through a countywide, LAFCO perspective in making decisions; and

WHEREAS, Contra Costa LAFCO appointed County Member Glover to serve as LAFCO Chair in 2023; and

WHEREAS, during Chair Glover's term, Contra Costa LAFCO initiated a County Service Area Municipal Service Review; initiated a special study covering cemetery districts; approved six boundary changes; approved dissolution of the Knightsen Town Community Services District; approved activation of latent powers for CSA R-7; updated the LAFCO Employee Benefits and Salary plans; approved Policies & Procedures updates; welcomed new employee Anna Seithel; received the *Special District Risk Management Authority* President Awards for our Property Liability and Workers Compensation Programs; completed two financial audits; received quarterly budget reports; and submitted legislative position letters.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that Contra Costa LAFCO hereby extends its recognition and appreciation to Commissioner Federal Glover for his dedicated service as its presiding LAFCO officer in 2023.

PRESENTED by Contra Costa LAFCO on January 10, 2024.

Candace Andersen, County Member Edi Birsan, City Member Donald A. Blubaugh, Public Member Patricia Bristow, District Member Diane Burgis, County Member

Lou Ann Texeira, LAFCO Executive Officer Thomas Geiger, LAFCO Legal Counsel Anna Seithel, LAFCO Clerk Analyst Charles R. Lewis, IV, Public Member Mike McGill, District Member Scott Pastor, District Member Scott Perkins, City Member Gabriel Quinto, City Member