1. Call to Order

2. Welcome and Roll Call (Agenda Items 1 - 2)

Chair Glover called the meeting of **June 14, 2023**, to order at 1:31 p.m. The following Commissioners and staff were present:

Regular Commissioners	Alternate Commissioners	Staff
Federal Glover, Chair	Chuck Lewis	Lou Ann Texeira, Executive Officer
Don Blubaugh, Vice Chair (absent)	Edi Birsan	Tom Geiger, Commission Counsel
Candace Andersen	Diane Burgis (absent)	Anna Seithel, LAFCO Clerk Analyst
Patricia Bristow (absent)		
Mike McGill		
Scott Perkins (absent)		
Gabriel Quinto		

Announcement: Pursuant to Governor Newsom's Executive Order and local county health orders issued to address the COVID 19 pandemic, the Commission meeting is being held via Zoom videoconference and in person. The public may attend in person, via Zoom, or listen to the meeting telephonically and comment by calling in to the teleconference meeting per the instructions on page one of the agenda. As required by the Brown Act, all votes taken this afternoon will be done by a roll call vote of the attending Commissioners participating via teleconference and in person.

3. Approval of May 10, 2023, Minutes and Corrections

TIOTT

Upon motion by Commissioner Andersen and second by Commissioner Lewis, the Commission unanimously, by a 6-0 vote approved the May 10, 2023, amended meeting minutes.

VOTE:AYES:Andersen, Birsan, Glover, Lewis, McGill, QuintoNOES:NoneABSENT:Blubaugh, Bristow, PerkinsABSTAIN:

4. Public Comments

Chair Glover invited members of the audience to provide public comment. There was no public comment.

SPHERE OF INFLUENCE (SOI) AMENDMENTS/CHANGES OF ORGANIZATION

5. LAFCO 23-01 – Dissolution of Knightsen Town Community Services District (KTCSD) – Upon motion by Commissioner Andersen and second by Commissioner Quinto, the Commission unanimously, by a 6-0 vote, received the results of the June 12, 2023, protest hearing on the dissolution ordered the dissolution, and directed staff to execute the Executive Officer's Determination. Chair Glover invited members of the audience to provide public comment. There was no public comment.

<u>VOTE</u> :
Andersen, Birsan, Glover, Lewis, McGill, Quinto
None
Blubaugh, Bristow, Perkins

6. LAFCO 23-03 – Annexation to West County Wastewater District, CenterPoint Properties – Upon motion by Commissioner McGill and second by Commissioner Andersen, the Commission unanimously, by a 6-0 vote, approved annexation of 32+ acres (18 parcels) located at 506 Brookside Drive (unincorporated Richmond), and related actions under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA). Public Hearing - Chair Glover invited members of the audience to provide public comment. There was no public comment

	<u>VOTE</u> :
AYES:	Andersen, Birsan, Glover, Lewis, McGill, Quinto
NOES:	None
ABSENT:	Blubaugh, Bristow, Perkins
ABSTAIN:	-

7. LAFCO 23-07 –Annexation to Mt. View Sanitary District, Yan Property – Upon motion by Commissioner Lewis and second by Commissioner Andersen, the Commission unanimously, by a 6-0 vote, approved annexation of 1.93± acres (APN 162-142-003) located on Venner Road in the City of Martinez to serve development of one single family home, and related actions as a responsible agency under CEQA. *Public Hearing* - Chair Glover invited members of the audience to provide public comment. There was no public comment.

	<u>VOTE</u> :
AYES:	Andersen, Birsan, Glover, Lewis, McGill, Quinto
NOES:	None
ABSENT:	Blubaugh, Bristow, Perkins
ABSTAIN:	-

- 8. LAFCO 23-09 Delta Diablo (DD) Sphere of Influence (SOI) Amendment, Loreto Bay
 - Upon motion by Commissioner McGill and second by Commissioner Quinto, the Commission unanimously, by a 6-0 vote, approved expanding DD's SOI to include one parcel (APN 096-050-016) totaling 2.88± acres located at the northeast corner of Pullman Ave and Fairview Ave (Bay Point) to serve development of 15 residential lots, and related actions as a responsible agency under CEQA.
 Public Hearing Chair Glover invited members of the audience to provide public comment. There was no public comment.

VOTE:AYES:Andersen, Birsan, Glover, Lewis, McGill, QuintoNOES:NoneABSENT:Blubaugh, Bristow, PerkinsABSTAIN:Vote Construction

9. LAFCO 23-10 – City of Concord, Out of Agency Service – Upon motion by Commissioner Birsan and second by Commissioner McGill, the Commission unanimously, by a 6-0 vote, after deliberation, approved a request by the City of Concord to extend municipal wastewater service to one parcel located at located at 1857 Ayers Road in unincorporated Concord, and related actions as a responsible agency under CEQA.

VOTE:AYES:Andersen, Birsan, Glover, Lewis, McGill, QuintoNOES:NoneABSENT:Blubaugh, Bristow, PerkinsABSTAIN:

BUSINESS ITEMS

10. LAFCO 18-06 – Chang Property Reorganization: Annexations to City of San Ramon, Central Contra Costa Sanitary District, and EBMUD and Detachment from County Service Area P-6 – Upon motion by Commissioner Andersen and second by Commissioner Birsan, the Commission unanimously, by a 6-0 vote, after deliberation, approved an extension of time to file the Certificate of Completion to June 30, 2024. Linus Eukel of John Muir Land Trust joined via Zoom teleconference to offer services to facilitate the preservation of the property. Lauren Barr of the City of San Ramon joined via Zoom teleconference to speak on the timeline of the project.

VOTE:AYES:Andersen, Birsan, Glover, Lewis, McGill, QuintoNOES:NoneABSENT:Blubaugh, Bristow, PerkinsABSTAIN:Vote Construction

- **11.** *CALAFCO 2023 Annual Conference, Board and Achievement Award Nominations* the Commission received this information, no action.
- 12. *Legislative Update and Position Letter* the Commission received this information, no action.
- **13.** *Executive Officer's Performance Review and Compensation* Upon motion by Commissioner McGill and second by Commissioner Andersen, the Commission unanimously, by a 6-0 vote, approved a salary increase in the amount of 5% for the LAFCO Executive Officer in conjunction with the recent performance review. Chair Glover invited members of the audience to provide public comment. There was no public comment.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

- 14. *Current and Potential Applications* the Commission received this information, no action.
- **15.** *Correspondence from Contra Costa County Employees' Retirement Association (CCCERA)* the Commission received this information and appointed Commissioner McGill to serve as LAFCO's voting delegate and appointed Commissioner Andersen to serve as the alternate voting delegate.
- 16. *Commissioner Comments and Announcements* Commissioner McGill reported:
 - June 16, 2023 CALAFCO Legislative Committee meeting
 - July 14, 2023 CALAFCO Board of Directors meeting
 - o July 28, 2023 CALAFCO Legislative Committee meeting
- 17. Staff Announcements/Newspaper Articles/CALAFCO Update Staff reported that we have a runoff election underway for the Alternate Special District seat consisting of two candidates: Michelle Lee with San Ramon Valley Fire Protection District and Scott Pastor with Diablo Water District; also, Faria Southwest Hills boundary reorganization was recently resubmitted and currently under review. Commissioner McGill commented about voting via email versus in-person elections, and that the Special District is willing to assist with this process.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting ended at 2:14 P.M.

The next regular LAFCO meeting is July 12, 2023, at 1:30 pm.

By_____

Lou Ann Texeira, LAFCO Executive Officer