

Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer

CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

40 Muir Road, 1st Floor • Martinez, CA 94553 e-mail: LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us

(925) 313-7133

MEMBERS

Candace Andersen County Member

Donald A. Blubaugh Public Member

Tom Butt City Member

Federal Glover County Member Michael R. McGill

Special District Member Rob Schroder City Member

Igor Skaredoff Special District Member

ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Diane Burgis County Member

Stanley Caldwell Special District Member

Charles R. Lewis, IV Public Member Sean Wright

City Member

November 13, 2019 Agenda Item 10

November 13, 2019 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 40 Muir Road, 1st Floor Martinez, CA 94553

Commissioner Terms - 2020

Dear Members of the Commission:

This is an update regarding Commissioner terms and the process for filling vacancies.

The authority and procedures for appointing Commissioners are set forth in the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 (CKH). All terms of office on LAFCO are four years, expiring on the first Monday in May, unless otherwise specified.

In May 2020, the terms of five Commissioners will expire: County Member Diane Burgis (Alternate), City Member Tom Butt (Member), Special District Member Mike McGill (Member), and Public Members Don Blubaugh (Member) and Chuck Lewis (Alternate). The selection process per the CKH and Commission policies for the County, Special District and Public members is summarized below:

County Members – appointed by the Board of Supervisors. LAFCO staff will coordinate with County staff regarding the upcoming vacancy, and report back to the Commission following the appointments. The Board of Supervisors typically makes its appointments in January each year.

City Members - selected by the Contra Costa City Selection Committee. LAFCO staff will coordinate with the Executive Director of the Contra Costa Mayors Conference and City Selection Committee, and report back to the Commission following the appointment in April 2020.

Special District Members – selected by the Independent Special District Selection Committee through the local chapter of the Special Districts Association. LAFCO staff will conduct the election in conjunction with the Contra Costa Special Districts Association, and report back to the Commission in April 2020.

Public Members - appointed by the other members of the commission subject to the affirmative vote of at least one City member, one County member and one Special District member as required by statute. The Commission's policies provide for a public member recruitment process as well as an alternate selection process are summarized below:

The method for selecting public members is determined by the City, County and Special District members. At least four affirmative votes are required to appoint the public members, and there must be at least one vote from each of the other member categories: City, County and Special District.

Unless the Commission gives alternative direction, the following procedure is used to recruit and select public members of Contra Costa LAFCO.

- Public announcement of the vacancy.
- Committee appointed by the Chair, consisting of a City member, County member and Special District member, screens applications and letters of interest.
- A committee composed of part or all of the Commission conducts interviews of selected applicants.
- The committee makes recommendations to the Commission.
- The Commission may conduct subsequent interviews and make a selection.

The use of any alternative selection process requires at least four affirmative votes, and there must be at least one vote from each of the other member categories: City, County and Special District.

A public member who is appointed following the Public Member Recruitment Process may be re-appointed under an alternative selection procedure once. Any subsequent reappointments require use of the Public Member Recruitment Process.

Following a public recruitment process in 2018, Commissioner Lewis was appointed to an unexpired two-year term filling a vacancy created by the departure of Sharon Burke. Commissioner Lewis indicates that he would like to continue to serve as the Public Member (Alternate).

Following a public recruitment process in 2012, Commissioner Blubaugh was first appointed to Contra Costa LAFCO. After serving a 4-year term, he was re-appointed by the Commission in 2016 using the alternative selection process. Pursuant to the LAFCO policies, a *public member who is appointed following the Public Member Recruitment Process may be re-appointed under an alternative selection procedure once. Any subsequent reappointments require use of the Public Member Recruitment Process.* Commissioner Blubaugh indicates that he would like to continue to serve as the Public Member.

Should the Commission decide to move forward with a recruitment for the Public Member seat(s), the recommended timeline for completing the recruitment and appointing the public member(s) is as follows:

- ❖ January 6, 2020 Announcement is distributed to the LAFCO distribution list, is posted on the Contra Costa LAFCO website, and is published in local newspapers
- ❖ February 14, 2020 Recruitment closes
- ❖ February 28, 2020 Screening committee completes review of applications and determines which applicants to interview
- ❖ March 2020 Screening committee conducts interviews and prepares a recommendation
- ❖ April 8, 2020 Commission considers applicants, screening committee's recommendation, and makes the appointment(s)

RECOMMENDATIONS

- 1. Provide direction regarding the appointment and/or recruitment of the Public Member seats; and
- 2. If the Commission proceeds with a recruitment for the Public Member seat(s), the LAFCO Chair should appoint a screening committee comprised of one City, one County and one Special District member; and
- 3. Provide other direction as desired.

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA EXECUTIVE OFFICER