# CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION DRAFT MEETING MINUTES September 8, 2021 November 10, 2021

Agenda Item 4

# 1. Welcome and Call to Order; Roll Call (Agenda Items 1 & 2)

Chair Skaredoff called the regular meeting of September 8, 2021, to order at 1:30 p.m. The following Commissioners and staff were present:

Regular Commissioners	Alternate Commissioners	Staff
Igor Skaredoff, Chair	Edi Birsan	Lou Ann Texeira, Executive Officer
Rob Schroder, Vice Chair	Diane Burgis	Tom Geiger, Commission Counsel
Candace Andersen	Stan Caldwell	Sherrie Weis, LAFCO Clerk
Don Blubaugh	Chuck Lewis	
Tom Butt		
Mike McGill		
Federal Glover		

Announcement: Pursuant to Governor Newsom's Executive Order and local county health orders issued to address the COVID 19 pandemic, the Commission meeting is being held via Zoom videoconference. The public may listen to the meeting telephonically and comment by calling in to the teleconference meeting per the instructions on page 1 of the agenda. As required by the Brown Act, all votes taken this afternoon will be done by a roll call vote of the attending Commissioners participating via teleconference.

### 3. Adoption of Agenda

Upon motion by Commissioner McGill and second by Commissioner Andersen, the Commission unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, adopted the agenda

	<u>VOTE</u> :
AYES:	Andersen, Blubaugh, Butt, Glover, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff
NOES:	NONE
ABSENT:	NONE
ABSTAIN:	NONE

## 4. Approval of Minutes

Upon motion by Commissioner Andersen and second by Commissioner Blubaugh, the Commission unanimously, by a 7-0 vote approved the August 11, 2021 meeting minutes

	<u>VOTE</u> :
AYES:	Andersen, Blubaugh, Butt, Glover, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff
NOES:	NONE
ABSENT:	NONE
ABSTAIN:	NONE

### 5. Public Comments

Chair Skaredoff invited members of the audience to provide public comment. There no were speakers.

# SPHERE OF INFLUENCE AMENDMENTS/CHANGES OF ORGANIZATION

6. LAFCO 21-04– Beacon West & Willow Mobile Home Park - Annexations to Contra Costa Water District (CCWD) and Diablo Water District (DWD) - consider approving annexations to CCWD (37.58± acres) and DWD (30.1± acres) (numerous parcels) located in unincorporated Bethel Island; and consider related actions per the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) Public Hearing

Chair Skaredoff opened the public hearing. Mr. Gloski, a Bethel Island resident, voiced concerns of water pressure and water rates but did not make a formal protest.

Chair Skaredoff closed the public hearing.

Following Commissioner comments and questions, and upon a motion by Commissioner Andersen and second by Commissioner McGill, the Commission, unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, approved Option 1 approve annexation to CCWD and DWD, and related actions per CEQA

 VOTE:

 AYES:
 Andersen, Blubaugh, Butt, McGill, Glover Schroder, Skaredoff

 NOES:
 NONE

 ABSENT:
 NONE

 ABSTAIN:
 NONE

### **BUSINESS ITEMS**

7. *Municipal Service Reviews (MSRs)* – authorize staff to execute a contract with Economic & Planning Systems to prepare second round MSRs/SOIs updates covering resource conservation services and mosquito & vector control services

Upon motion by Commissioner Blubaugh and second by Commissioner Andersen, unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, authorized LAFCO staff to execute a contract with EPS to prepare the 2nd round resource conservation and mosquito and vector control services MSRs/SOI updates, with a project budget not to exceed \$35,000

	<u>VOTE</u> :
AYES:	Andersen, Blubaugh, Butt, Glover, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff
NOES:	NONE
ABSENT:	NONE
ABSTAIN:	NONE

8. 2022 LAFCO Meeting Schedule – consider approving the 2022 LAFCO meeting schedule

Upon motion by Commissioner McGill second by Commissioner Glover, the Commission unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, received staff report; and approved the 2022 meeting schedule

	<u>VOTE</u> :
AYES:	Andersen, Blubaugh, Butt, Glover, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff
NOES:	NONE
ABSENT:	NONE
ABSTAIN:	NONE

### 9. FY 2019-20 Financial Audit – receive and file audit report

Commissioner Skaredoff requested that thank you notes be sent to staff that helped provide information for the FY 2019-20 Financial Audit

#### **INFORMATIONAL ITEMS**

**10.** *Pending Applications* – receive an update on pending proposals –informational update – no action required by the Commission.

#### **CORRESPONDENCE**

**11.** Correspondence from Contra Costa County Employee's Retirement Association (CCCERA)

#### **12.** Commissioner Comments and Announcements

Commissioner McGill updated the Commission on CALAFCO's activities:

- August 25, 2021 CALAFCO Executive Committee Meeting
- September 2, 2021 CALAFCO Board of Directors Special Meeting
- September 10, 2021 CALAFCO Legislative Committee Meeting
- September 15, 2021 CALAFCO Executive Committee Meeting Interviews with the candidates for the CALAFCO Executive Officer position

Commissioner McGill reported that Commissioner Stan Caldwell received the William Hollingsworth Award of Excellence, the most prestigious honor bestowed by the California Special Districts Association (CSDA). This award celebrates distinguished ongoing service and exceptional contributions to the special districts and the communities they serve. The criteria for this award include a demonstration of significant leadership, or in partnership with, special districts regionally or statewide. Stan has been a very active participant at California Associate of Sanitation Agencies, CSDA, and the Contra Costa Special Districts Association (CCSDA) for many years. Further, he has faithfully served as the special district alternate to Contra Costa LAFCO and CCSDA. Stan also currently serves as the CCSDA President and prepares the chapter newsletter as the editor.

Commission McGill asked that staff prepare a Resolution recognizing Commissioner Caldwell. Moved by Commissioner McGill seconded by Commissioner Blubaugh. Informal vote – carried unanimously.

#### **13.** Staff Announcements

Executive Officer announced that the annual CALAFCO conference was cancelled

The meeting adjourned at 1:58 p.m.

Final Minutes Approved by the Commission November 10, 2021

	<u>VOTE</u> :
AYES:	Andersen, Blubaugh, Butt, Glover, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff
NOES:	NONE
ABSENT:	NONE
ABSTAIN:	NONE

### **ADJOURNMENT**

The next regular LAFCO meeting is November 10, 2021, at 1:30 pm.

By\_\_\_

Executive Officer